Accelerating hope for the Southland.

The CSO Strategic Taskforce brings together Chief Sustainability Officers from academic, business, government, and NGO institutions across LA County to focus on Southland sustainability as a whole and innovate professional-community collaborations. Programs serve professional development, higher ed, and community learning. The Taskforce is a collaborative initiative with Los Angeles City Councilmember Paul Koretz.

The Taskforce includes the following: CHAIR: Heidrun Mumper-Drumm, Director of Sustainability Initiatives, ArtCenter College of Design.

MEMBERS OF THE CHAIR’S ADVISORY COUNCILRobyn Eason, Long Range Planning and Sustainability Manager, City of West Hollywood; Dean Kubani, Principal, Kubani and Associates, LLC, and Chief Sustainability Officer (ret.), City of Santa Monica; Sr. Maribeth Larkin, General Director, Sisters of Social Service, Encino; Pablo La Roche, Principal and Design Lead, Callison RTKL, and Interim Director, Lyle Center for Regenerative Studies, Cal Poly Pomona; Luis Navarro, Associate, Langan Engineering and Environmental Services; Marcela Oliva, Professor of Architecture and Environmental Design, LA Trade Technical College; John Onderdonk, Associate Vice-President of Facilities, Caltech, and founding chair of the CSO Taskforce; Eugene Shirley, Founding President, Pando Populus, and founding principal of the CSO Taskforce; Andy Shrader, Executive Director, Environmental Affairs, Health & Sustainability Policy for Councilmember Paul Koretz, City of Los Angeles, and founding principal of the CSO Taskforce; and Mark Spears, Founder and Chief Strategist, common + value, and Director, Sustainable Business Practices (ret.), Walt Disney Company.

TASKFORCE MEMBERS (in addition to the above): David Abel, Chairman, Verde Exchange; Nadereh Afsharmanesh, VP of Sustainability and Education, ECOS; Scott Ammons, Regional Experiences, So Cal, REI; Mandar Apte, Executive Director, Cities for Peace; Bonny Bentzin, Deputy Sustainability Officer, UCLA;  John Bielenberg, Co-Founder, Thinknado, and Creative Director, Pando Populus; Jonny Blitstein, Co-Founder, Tandem Pictures; La Ronda Bowen, President, Bowen & Associates; Tim Brick, Managing Director, Arroyo Seco Foundation; Randy Britt, Consultant for Sustainable Practices in Energy and Resilience and Chief Sustainability Officer (frmr.), Vanir Construction Management); Sasha Calder, Head of Sustainability, Genomatica; Julie Christeas, Founder, CEO, Tandem Pictures; John B. Cobb, Chair, Pando Populus and Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; Austin Eriksson, Director of Energy & Sustainability, California State University Northridge; Adam Eeuwens, Writer and Producer; Gary Gero, Chief Sustainability Officer, Los Angeles County; David Grannis, Managing Partner, Point C; Russell Greene, Chief Sustainability Officer (ret.), Cheesecake Factory; Dominique Hargreaves, Director, Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility, American Realty Advisors; Devon Hartman, Principal, Hartman Energy Strategies; Christopher Hazen, Co-Founder/COO, Northwest Prevention Science, and Principal/Owner, Horizontal 8, LLC; Adam Lane, Vice President of Programs, Los Angeles Business Council; Mary Leslie, President, Los Angeles Business Council; Loraine Lundquist, Commissioner, LAUSD Board of Education Redistricting Commission at City of Los Angeles, and Faculty Associate, Institute for Sustainability, Cal State University at Northridge; George Lu, Associate Director, ESG Technical Analyses, Reporting and Strategy, ADEC Innovations; Carey Lundin, Executive Producer, Viva Lundin Productions; Chebon Marshall, Chief of Staff and Assistant to the President for Government and Community Affairs, CalArts; Rebeca Mendez, Department Chair, Design Media Arts, UCLA; Katherine Miller, Director of Campus Development, Facilities and Workplace Services and Chief Sustainability Officer (frmr.), Conrad N. Hilton Foundation, and principal, KM3 Consulting; Sr.Dolores Mitch, MM, Maryknoll Sisters; Ignacio Munoz-SanJuan, Vice President, Biology, CHDI Foundation; Vickere Murphy, Administrative Assistant to the Associate Vice-President, Caltech; Carrie Norton, Founder and CEO, Green Business Base Camp; Jenni Ogden, COO and Co-Founder, 4D Fun Inc and President, Executive Producer, Eye Q Productions; Kristen Pawling, Sustainability Plan Director, County of Los Angeles Chief Sustainability Office; Matt Petersen, President and CEO, LA Cleantech Incubator (LACI); David Porges, Director of Corporate Relations, CalPoly Pomona; John Rego, Vice President Sustainability, Medical and EHS, Sony Pictures Entertainment; Craig Reiter, Senior Director, Sustainability and Energy, LA Metro; Christopher Rhie, Associate Principal, Buro Happold; Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator, City of Long Beach;  Claire Robinson, Founder and Managing Director, Amigos de los Rios; Rebecca Schmitt, Consultant and Advisor and Board Director and Secretary/Treasurer, Pando Populus; Shannon Scrofano, Associate Director of Design and Production, CalArts; Ezra Silk, Political Director, US High Speed Rail Coalition; Youn Sim, Assistant Division Head, LA County Department of Public Works; Jesse Smith, COO, CalArts; Evonne Soon, Program Manager, Extended Product Responsibility, Amazon; Michael Swords, VP Government Affairs and International Relations, LA Cleantech Incubator; Mike Wallace, SVP, Strategic Engagement, Persefoni; Brandt Williams, Co-Founder, Thinknado; Natale Zappia, Director, Institute for Sustainability, Cal State University at Northridge.


April 7, 2021

October 27, 2020

February 16, 2020

October 16, 2019

August 22, 2019

April 23, 2019

December 5, 2018

October 9, 2018

March 18, 2018

November 17, 2017

July 31, 2017


The most creative minds within higher ed tackle the biggest sustainability challenges facing Southern California.

PANDO DAYS 2019/20
A four-part series of events to harness the genius of LA County’s creative community for the most ambitious regional sustainability plan in the country.

Peer-to-peer education and innovation for sustainable cities.